Design Team Challenge

If you haven’t already noticed I am a HUGE MFT fan! I love participating in the Wednesday Stamp Club Sketch Challenges and I love when the Design Team Challenge is a sketch. Last month I posted three cards made with the August DT Sketch. You might remember seeing Let’s Celebrate A Primrose Summer Breeze, Happy Birthday, and Con-GRAD-ulations! Even though two of the cards qualified to be submitted as official entries into the design team member contest I chose not to enter. I felt it wouldn’t be fair since I was just starting my blog and wasn’t sure I could make that commitment. This month however I am on a roll! I have decided to reward myself for keeping up with my blog and sharing my creations on SCS.

Here is my first creation for this months design team challenge over at MFT Stamps. This months challenge is a sketch…I love sketch challenges! For this card I used my brand new mini rolled rose die-namics to create three bubble gum pink roses. When I first pulled out this die-namic it was just to experiment, I have had the die for a little while but I wasn’t sure how exactly to make the roses. I followed this tutorial on the MFT Stamps website. I started with the full sized rolled rose and then moved on to the mini. I think the full size rolled rose will be perfect for larger cards and other projects, but it was slightly over powering for this particular card.

Once my roses were made I cut all of papers to size and began taping the layers together. I colors my Pure Innocence 020 (also known as Pure Innocence Because You’re Special) digital image with Copic markers. My technique for coloring is fairly simple I start with the face using E11, E00, and R 20. Sometimes I use E000 for my faces depending on the image. I use R20 for the cheeks! Once I’ve colored the skin on the image I color the hair, followed by the clothes, and finally the shoes, accessories, and any item the image my be holding. I finish off the image by tracing around it with B10-Cool Shadow. I used to use one of my light cool grey colors, but I find that the blue shadow gives more life to my images.

After my image was all colored I assembled the entire card. I added foam dimensional squares under the image panel and the sentiment tab. I adhered the felt roses with glue dots and added a little bling instead of leaves or stems. Once the card was full together I added some Stardust Stickles to the flower in her hair and some sparkly jelly roll pen to the flowers and the vase in her hands.

Here is a close up of my rolled roses…not to bad for my very first try! Once I get my collection of felt a little fuller you’ll be seeing many more roses from this girl! Thanks for stopping by to check out my cards.

Supplies:

MFT-Mini Rolled Rose Die-namics, Bubble gum pink Felt, and Bracket Tab Die-namic

MME 6×6 Happy Day Patterned Paper

SU-Pretty in Pink CS and Taffeta Ribbon and Pink Pirouette CS

Stardust stickles, Sparkel Jelly Roll Pen, Zva Creative Crystals, and 120 lbs White CS

 

 

Leave a Reply

