Birthday Boy

I am amazed sometimes at how much guys don’t share important information with their gals! I have been dating my boyfriend Jordan for almost 7 years now. Many of his friends I now consider my friends as well. Would you believe I nearly forgot a birthday?! Actually I didn’t forget I was just never told ahead of time…for the last 6 years so I never actually knew when this particular friends birthday was. You can bet I will not be in a lurch next year. I have his birthday written down in 2 places and on my phone calendar.

I created this little card using the MFT design team challenge sketch for September. I will not be submitting this one for consideration because it does not use an MFT image, but I still like the composition of the sketch. This little cutie is a C.C. Designs Digi called Balloon Trevor. I really like this image and have used him in conjunction with a few of my Verve Stamps birthday sets as well to create a custom image. I colored my image with Copic markers, many are new colors that I got at the Heirloom Expo two Sundays ago. I really like the way Copic markers blend, but it took me a really long time to like Copics for paper crafting. As a design student I HATED Copic markers…they would bleed all over my project, the chisel tip never blended two lines, and they were bulky and square…yuck. I still have some of my originals and use them for crafting because they were extremely expensive and I didn’t want the markers to go to waste even when my design talents didn’t live up to my expectations. The markers these days while no less expensive are better utilized by crafters because of the  variety of colors and their versatility for blending and shading. I recommend taking a Copic coloring class if you haven’t already!

Supplies:

MFT-a la mode Birthday Girl (for Happy Birthday sentiment), Star STAX die-namics, and File Tab die-namics

CC Designs Balloon Trevor DIGI

MME- Lime Twist Patterned Paper in Fly A Kite

SU-Real Red, Tempting Turquoise, Chocolate Chip, and Green Galore(R) CS and Crystal Effects (on the balloon to make it shinny)

Momento Rich Cocoa Ink, Copic Markers, and Foam Dimensional Squares

Leave a Reply

