Pledge of Allegiance

A couple weeks ago I was browsing the different challenges on SCS to see if there was another one I could participate in regularly. I enjoy the color challenges and sketch challenges and I used to make some pretty “clean and simple” cards, but I hardly every play along with the Featured Stamper challenge. So for this card I tried to play along with the Featured Stamper (FS288) NatureCoastStamper. There are many different rules to the featured stamper challenge…which might be why I rarely ever play. I find so many inspiring cards and ideas on SCS, but I get nervous CASing cards. I used the sketch/idea from NatureCoastStamper’s Frosted Christmas card and the patriotic theme from Steampunk Fourth for my card.

To create this card I first cut all my cardstock to size, then stamped my Our Daily Bread Designs “I Pledge Allegiance” stamp in SU: Midnight Muse ink. Then I stamped my Our Daily Bread Designs “Eagle” stamp in SU: Cherry Cobbler ink, sprinkled on clear embossing powder, and heated it very carefully with my heat tool as to not melt the vellum. Once all the images were stamped I assembled the card using a bit of vellum adhesive on the corners of the vellum because it wouldn’t stay closed.

I bought these stamps at the Heirloom Expo in Novi last year and hadn’t used them yet…yikes! I had every intention of using them for an invite for friends for a gathering at my BF’s cottage in Harbor Springs, but we didn’t end up having it in July. Oh well they are beautiful images that I can use for great patriotic themed cards.

Supplies:

SU-Midnight Muse and Cherry Cobbler CS and Ink, Clear Embossing Powder, and Silver Cord

Our Daily Bread Designs-I Pledge Allegiance and Eagle Stamp

White CS, Embossing Heat Tool, Vellum, Tombo Vellum Adhesive

 

Leave a Reply

