Color My World

This is another one of my submissions for the MFT Stamps Guest Designer contest for September. I really love the composition of the sketches from MFT on their Wednesday Sketch Challenge and this special sketch is no different. I’m really happy that it involved flowers because I was excited to use my new Mini Rolled Rose Die-namics. Now that I know how they work it’s great to just whip out some paper or felt roses. I recently ordered the Mini Royal Rolled Rose Die-namics to add to my collection. It came in the mail yesterday and I cannot wait to get started making some more roses!

I tried a new (well new to me) technique I learned about on The Greeting Farm blog. I stamped my image on Crumb Cake CS from SU, then using darker skin colors and hair colors to make the image look realistic. I don’t know if I really have the correct colors of Copics for this technique, but I will tell you that I liked my coloring much better after the ink dried.

I used paper piecing on the clothing for this cute little PI-You Color My World image. I used one of my favorite LilybeeDesigns patterned papers for both the background, paper piecing, and the roses. I think this little PI image is a perfect choice for paper pieces. I did learn I’m a little rusty when it comes to the technique so I’m sure you’ll see a lot more paper piecing when you visit.

For this card I broke out the MFT Traditional Tags STAX Die-namics which I hadn’t used since I last ordered. I love that the tag gives an interesting look to the shape and the image of the card. I also broke out my Crop-a-dile by We R Memory Keepers which I cannot tell you the last time I used this tool, but it’s been up on it’s shelf for a while.  As I do these challenges and posts I’ve been trying to challenge myself to use tools, papers, stamps, or techniques I haven’t used in a while. I know that I buy all of these wonderful products because I love them…now it’s time to share my creations.

Leave a Reply

