My Very First Digi

I’ve been wanting to share this card I made for my God Son for his birthday this year. I used my favorite CC Designs Digi Image….Ballon Trevor! Believe it or not this is actually the first card I made with this image and it’s one of the first digi images I bought. Prior to this I was strictly an ink to rubber/clear polymer to paper girl, but after taking Suzanne Dean’s CMC Copic workshop for beginners and using digi images there I became more brave with my image medium.

I was inspired to make this card after searching “birthday” or “birthday bash” in the SCS gallery and viewing this card by Dawn Easton (treasureoiler). At the time I found this card I didn’t really do any of the challenges on SCS or other popular sites on a regular basis like I try to do now. Come to find out this was a Mojo Monday sketch in August of 2011. I really liked the composition of the card and I was definately drawn to the colors and the DP that was used. This would have been the first card I shared on my blog, but I wanted to give proper credit to my inspiration not just credit to the sketch so I had to do a little more research. I really do love this sketch and I’ve used it over and over again with different images which I think is a tell tail sign of a perfect sketch! Hopefully you will see more variations of this card as you follow along…I really really like it!

I never intented to “follow” any one stamper or group of stampers. Obviously we all tend to like the same or similar styles as our own or styles we aspire to recreate. I kept finding that I would randomly enjoy cards made by the same people when I would browse the daily “new additions” to the SCS gallery. TreasureOiler happened to be one fo them. I find she has crisp clean well “organized” creations which is something I aspire to have in my creations. I also love many of the same companies she loves!

On another note…I have a tendancy to use a stamp to death (as you can see)! I have so many great stamps and supplies so one of my challenges to myself is to make cards and creations with all of the great products I have in my collection. Now I just need to find a way to plan or organize this challenge to myself!

Leave a Reply

