The Cards That Started It All…Sort Of!

Typically I make cards and creations to give to my friends and family members for special occasions. I kept getting requests from people who had received my cards to sell them. So I started an Etsy site with a few cards I had created special for the site, but I didn’t really have much success. Until I had a friend ask me to make her invitations asking her ring bearer and flower girl to be in her wedding.

My only requirements to meet were fall theme, one of each, and inside it had to ask the recipient to be the flower girl and ring bearer. Boy did I have my work cut out for me! First thing I did was order the ring bearer and flower girl PI’s from MFT Stamps. I had always wanted them, but didn’t have a reason to have them until now! I’ve more than paid for my investment! Next I searched SCS for a sketch that I liked and I searched my stash for some fall themed paper. I used Basic Grey Indian Summer for both cards. I really like the orange and yellow with the darker tones.

This is how the cards turned out…I liked them, but felt they both needed more. The flower girl was simple…I found a prima’s flower in my stash that added just enough without changing the direction of the theme, but the ring bearer was a bit more tricky. I couldn’t just slap a flower on a card for a little boy! I found some giant leaves in my stash that I had bought in the dollar spot at Target. I wasn’t sure what I had bought them for, but I was glad to have them.

I took two leaves and cut them into smaller pieces to create this embellishment. I tied a pumpkin pie taffeta bow to finish off the top of the leaves. I felt that the leaves were the perfect addition to this card.

This was the inside. The flower girl was the same, except with the flower girl stamped image and “Will You Be Our Flower Girl” stamped out. After I had taken a couple pictures and mailed her her cards I posted them on my Etsy site. I got hits right away and have since edited the listing to two separate listings. I’ll share some of the other ring bearer and flower girl cards I’ve made with everyone soon!

Leave a Reply

