Design Team Challenge

I created this little beauty for the My Favorite Things Guest Design Team Challenge for January (MFTGUESTDT0113).

LieslBirthday2013

For this card I definitely took a “less is more” approach  I tried to follow the sketch exactly, but ended up adding two elements of my own. I was dying to use my new MFT Die-namics Open Scallop Edge and I really like how it compliments the paper I chose (which is a new 6×6 Echo Park-Everyday Eclectic paper pad I bought at my LSS). I also added the banner with the sentiment which I stamped in SU crumb cake ink…I cannot wait for the kraft color ink to be available for purchase from MFT!

I stamped my MFT a la modes Big Birthday Wish image on Curious Metallics Cyrogen White CS with Memento Tuxedo Black ink then colored it with Copic markers. I didn’t have all the colors I wanted to blend and shade as I normally would, but I think it turned out pretty well just using the colorless blender!

LieslBirthday2013Open

As they say “Hindsight is 20-20”, well in this case it totally is. I don’t know what I was thinking, but I should have stamped my image inside of the card is Crumb Cake ink as apposed to the black. However, I must say that I’m trying not to be too upset about it because I actually decorated the inside of the card instead of leaving it blank like I typically do.

Although I followed a challenge for this card I also made it with some one specific in mind. My best friend (as I mentioned) celebrated her birthday on Thursday. I was hoping to be able to share this card with everyone on her actual birthday, but I wasn’t quite finished with it! I hope she likes it!

Leave a Reply

