Doing It All At Once

IMG_0647

I found this quote on Pinterest the other day when I was browsing the “everything” category. This quote pretty much sums up my life right now. I’ve been putting so much pressure on myself to be successful (to the point of perfection) in every area of my life and my goals for the year that I was failing miserably.

So I’ve decided that I have to change the way I am looking at my goals. First my big picture goals: 1)continue my education (my most important goal)-I am currently taking 3 classes at our local community college, I have applied to one of the local four year colleges to complete my program, and I have decided that I will apply for the graduate program in Human Resources when I am eligible. 2)learn to let go (my next project is cleaning out my closet and all of my belongings from my time in Kalamazoo)-I have to remember that I am not 21 anymore and I will never wear that again, my current job does not require business attire-donation to a woman’s shelter would be a good thing to do, and photo’s will conjure the memories and take up less space.

Second my little picture goals: 1)have fun (this is a very broad goal)-Jordan and I just got back from a wonderful 4 day trip to Lake Placid, NY where we skied and snowboarded at Whiteface Mountain (where the 1932 and 1980 WInter Olympics were held)–this summer we’ve also planned 3 concerts (2 of which are 3 day festivals) and 4 Tigers baseball games–all of which we are doing with friends we enjoy spending time with! 2)make the best of every situation (glass half full mentality)-I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned my job, but I don’t like what I do to support my self–retail, ick–instead of dreading work every day I’m going to find something positive in each work day–also I’m not very good at “going with the flow” when problems arise in my every day life or when we are out and about, hopefully this will help with my control issues.

So with those goals more laid out don’t be surprised if you don’t hear from me as often as I originally planned. I’m focusing on my education, letting go, having fun, and finding the silver lining!

One thought on “Doing It All At Once

Leave a Reply

