Wedding Planning Season

I’ve always wanted to make wedding invitations to put on my Etsy site, but I was always overwhelmed by the idea of creating invitations without a specific bride in mind. Well my opportunity to create has presented its self!

My best friend Liesl has asked me to create an invitation for a friend of hers so she could see what a hand crafted invite would look like. I think my first attempt turned out pretty well. The first picture is of the whole invite put together, but open so you can see the entire package.

InvitationOpen

So this sample I just used the information that was on the template, so the names and the event location and time aren’t real, but everyone can see how it would be laid out. I did dry and heat embossing to show the different techniques that could be used. I love the motif from Stampin’ Up’s Manhattan collection.

InvitationDetail

Here is a close up of both types of embossing in the same shot! I think both are beautiful, but I love the delicate nature of the heat embossing much more than the bold lines of the dry embossing.

And finally the whole package, all tied up with a coordinating belly band to keep the pieces together.

InvitationClosed

What do you think of my first attempt? I’ve learned so much from this first try and I know everything that I would change or do differently the next time around. I hope that this helps Liesl show off the beauty of hand crafted cards and invitations…next I’m going to make coordinating Thank You notes!

Leave a Reply

