Take Time Tuesday, Take 5

I won’t lie I had a completely different Take Time Tuesday post ready to go and then the events of yesterday’s tragedy at The Boston Marathon unfolded.

It’s hard to describe what I am thankful for today, but I think many will be able to relate to this post. After reading all of the news links, looking through some very shocking pictures, and watching footage of the attack I was able to come to terms with the magnitude of what happened in Boston, MA on Monday. I have such admiration for all of the civilians who came to the aid of the wounded victims. In many pictures I saw and even the one video clip I watched I saw people tearing down the barricades to help the injured in any way they could. Those images gave me hope that there is still good in the world. I pray that I could be as selfless in such a difficult time.

While I don’t run (due to knee injuries that flair up at the mere mention of running) I am a fan of and a friend to many runners. The community of runners grew last night to include those, like me, who are feeling the weight of yesterday’s attack. I pray for peace to come to those who were immediately affected by this senseless act of violence, along with swift justice to those who perpetrated this crime against humanity. I pray that this event will not discourage or bring fear to the running community and all of the races that have been scheduled, planned, and trained for.

In the end I am thankful today for belief in a higher power and the ability to pray for peace, courage, strength, and whatever anyone needs to get through the tragedies that are becoming common place. I am thankful for a nation that still believes I have the right to pray for those affected in the way that I choose. I am hopeful that all who have strayed from the path that is right and good will find their way back.

take-time-tuesday

Thank you for visiting today. Please visit my friend Katie over at LiveHalfFullBlog.com, she is an inspiration to all and I believe she is working on a way to honor the victims of yesterday’s violence.

2 thoughts on “Take Time Tuesday, Take 5

Leave a Reply

